August 2011


As we conclude our third year of outstanding artist-centric programming, Hamiltonian Artists has named five new, distinguished Hamiltonian Fellows for 2011 to join our five existing Fellows.  We are thrilled to introduce:
·      Nora Howell (MFA,  Maryland Institute College of Art)
·      Sarah Knobel (MFA, University of Cincinatti)
·      Matthew Mann (MFA, American University)
·      Jenny Mullins (MFA, Maryland Institute College of Art)
·      Joshua Wade Smith (MFA, Maryland Institute College of Art, Mt. Royal School of Art)

The five new 2011 So-Hamiltonian Fellows were selected from a pool of over 150 very promising artists who applied this year.  The External Review Panel, comprised of six incredibly acclaimed art professionals, caucused together and evaluated every application based on criteria regarding artistic merit and relevance to today's art world, and were asked to gauge how well the potential fellow would thrive within the fellowship program.  We would like to express our sincere gratitude to the panelists for their generosity and enthusiastic support of this endeavor:

Ian MacLean Davis -Visual Artist, Hamiltonian Artists Alumnus
Tim Doud -Visual Artist, Co-director of MFA Program, American University
Beatrice Gralton - Curator, Corcoran Gallery of Art
Carol Huh - Curator of Contemporary Asian Art, Free Gallery of Art and Arthur M.Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution
Fletcher Mackey - Visual Artist, Professor, MICA
Kate MacDonnell - Photographer, Civilian Art Projec


click here to download a copy of the press release

August 13 - September 10, 2011

Opening Reception:
Saturday, August 13, 2011